Our Partners

The IDC would like to thank our members and supporters from around the globe for their continuing support during this year. Particular thanks go to the members of the International Advisory Committee and the Governance and Finance Committee who give of their time so generously and enable us to make our collaboration effective and global. Our gratitude is also extended to the participants in the 2017 / 2018 Internship Program. Many of our partners do not sit on formal groups for the IDC, but their generosity and commitment to collaboration enables the IDC network to achieve far more than it ever could as one entity. Thank you all for your vision, energy and willingness to share your knowledge.

Governance and Finance Committee

  • Anna Marie Gallagher, President
  • Alice Nah, Vice President
  • Mary Latham, Treasurer and Secretary
  • Michelle Brané
  • James Thomson


Most importantly to our funders who continue to share our vision of a world without immigration detention: Oak Foundation, Open Society Foundation, Avina Americas, the Central America and Mexico Migration Alliance (CAMMINA), Ford Foundation, MacArthur Foundation, Planet Wheeler Foundation, European Programme for Integration and Migration (EPIM), Besen Family Foundation, The Antipodean Family Foundation, and the Ballandry (Peter Griffin Family) Fund and the Williams Fund via the Australian Community Foundation, along with donations from private individuals. 

International Advisory Committee

  • Anderson Selvasegaram, SUKA Society
  • Anna Shea, Amnesty International
  • Bill Frelick, Human Rights Watch (HRW)
  • Brian Barbour, Japan Association for Refugees
  • Eleanor Acer, Human Rights First
  • Eunice Ndonga Githinji, Refugee Consortium Kenya (RCK)
  • Janet Dench, Canadian Council for Refugees
  • Jean-Sebastian Blanc, Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT)
  • Jenny Collins-White, Catholic Mission
  • Jerome Phelps, Detention Action
  • Julia Mayerhofer, The Asia Pacific Refugee Rights Network
  • Karina Sarmiento, Asylum Access América Latina
  • Katarzyna Slubik, Association for Legal Intervention
  • Marek Linha, Norwegian Organisation for Asylum Seekers (NOAS)
  • Mark Provera, Jesuit Refugee Service (JRS) Europe
  • Melanie Teff
  • Dr. Melissa Phillips
  • Fr Michael Gallagher, The Jesuit Refugee Service (JRS)
  • Nancy Pérez García, Sin Fronteras
  • Oktay Durukan, Refugee Rights Turkey
  • Silky Shah, Detention Watch Network (DWN)
  • Solomon Wasia Masitsa Kituo Cha Sheria
  • Stephanie Silverman, University of Toronto
  • Thomas Touray, West African Institute for Legal Aid
  • Veronica Aragon, International Consultant
  • Vinicio Sandóval, Grupo de Monitoreo Independiente de El Salvador (GMIES)
  • Wayne Ncube / Prash Hansraj / Kayan Leung, Lawyers for Human Rights (LHR)